Birth of a Hummingbird…

hummingbird-1

This was sent to me in an email today. As snow covers the ground in Michigan and temperatures hover around 25-30 degrees fahrenheit…it is so cool to witness something as wonderful as this.

Otherwise, I can watch the ice fishermen freeze their butts off outside on the lake. Never understood ice fishing…actually never got into fishing at all. My dad took me out fishing as a kid when we rented a cabin up north in Michigan most every summer. I didn’t bait the hook and I couldn’t stay quiet that long. Needless to say, we never caught much fish when I went, but I enjoyed the time with my dad. If dad really wanted fish, he snuck out early, before I got up…

Anyway…click here for some wonderful photos. Make sure you hit “next page” to see the whole series.

                     http://community-2.webtv.net/Velpics/HUM/

Wasn’t that cool? The nest and the baby hummingbirds are SO tiny. Another of nature’s miracles.

I love the ruby-throated hummingbirds that visit Michigan in the summer. I have a large trumpet vine (Campsis ‘Madame Galen’) that has a deep orange tubular flower. The vine stretches from a lower deck up to and along the railing of my upper deck. The trunk of it is about 3-4 inches in diameter. Hummingbirds love the flowers and hide in the foliage. One year we had a nest. To bad I didn’t see it until the foliage fell…

Enjoy the holidays!

Hope you had a blessed Christmas and look forward to an amazing 2011…!

Sandie Parrott

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

